Homepage: Resources: Anti-Islamophobia

Anti-Islamophobia Guide

This guide is intended to be a starting point to explore aspects of Islam and encourage individuals to think about their role in wider discourse about race and identity. These resources have been selected predominantly by the Library & Learning Skills team who are not experts in this area and you may have more insightful or relevant suggestions from your own lived experiences. Let us know if you disagree with our selection and what you recommend instead (using this form) so we can all learn together.

International Day to combat Islamophobia

The EDI department organises an event every year to mark International Day to combat Islamophobia, for both students and staff. The University also has a Ramadan planning group. If you are interested in contributing or have any suggestions, please contact edi@law.ac.uk

Key dates in the Islamic Calendar

Calendar of Islamic festivals and holy days
Guide published by the Islamic Networks Group, covering the years 2023-2027
Islamic festivals and holy days
The University of Law's Equality, Diversity & Inclusion department has compiled a list of festivals and holy days, along with a recording on how to create a Muslim-inclusive workplace.

Books

Books by Muslim authors (inc books on Islam)
A selection of books curated by our librarians.
Books on Islam in Project Gutenberg
A small selection which is free to access. You can also search other out-of-copyright titles by searching by title or author name.
Islam and works by Muslim authors on Libby (Overdrive)
Audiobooks and ebooks by Muslim authors. We have a selection of fiction and non-fiction. By tagging books of interest to you on Libby, you can help expand our collection.
Suggestions for enhancing the collection

Support and resources

The University of Law's statement on Islamophobia
The University's definition of Islamophobia and support available. Please note that this link is currently only available to staff.
Muslim Council of Britain's definitions of Islamophobia
Educational resources to help counter hate crime.
Inspirited Minds
Mental health support for the Muslim community, includes resources and and a chatline.
Stop Hate
Dedicated 24 hour anti hate crime reporting service
Tell Mama
Reporting and measuring Anti-Muslim attacks

Audiovisual content for anti-antisemitism, including digital museum and art collections

BFI's collection
Although the BFI hasn't put all its film content relating to Islam and Muslims into a collection, it has a wide range of relevant films (from a variety of countries), which can be searched for by keyword on the search page.

Below is a 1926 film, part of the BFI's collection, which was filmed at Woking Mosque (built in 1889), showing prayer in the open air.

The Aga Khan Library
A range of print resources (based in London) and online digital exhibitions.
The British Muslim Heritage Centre
Workshops, events and exhibitions are held at the centre in Manchester, along with prayers and coffee mornings.
A visual history of the Hajj
Videos, photographs and text from the Khalili Collections, charting the history of pilgrimage.
The Aga Khan Trust for Culture's virtual exhibitions
Exhibitions on a wide range of resources, classified by place and photographer.
Exploring the Islamic World at the British Museum
Explore the British Museum's Islamic collection.
This is Ramadan - video
Hosted by the Cultural Calendar Club - the password is Calendar2024!