Homepage: Resources: Psychology

Getting Started

Before you begin, please make sure you've logged into Elite when accessing Library resources and database subscriptions. For more guidance please see our Access & Troubleshooting page.

Self Directed Support

Skills Academy Courses

Introduction to Psychology Research
This micro-course is designed to give you an introduction to the resources available to you in Psychology as well as the best ways to use them
How to use Perlego
This micro-course teaches you how to use the e-book platform Perlego
How to Reference- APA
This micro-course will discuss APA referencing and introduce you to the support offered by the library service.

Key Texts

Applied Psychology: Research, Training and Practice

Research Methods and Statistics in Psychology

Access titles on Perlego - Register for a ULaw account
Perlego user in 2024/25? Contact library@law.ac.uk if seeing a 'you no longer have access' error

Note:

The University does have access to data management and analytics software such as SPSS and NVivo but this is not managed by the Library and Study Skills Service.

To access this software, please contact the IT service desk on the below email address:

it.servicedesk@law.ac.uk

Psychology Databases

Key Databases

MEDLINE Ultimate
This database offers medical professionals and researchers access to unmatched evidence-based and peer-reviewed full-text content from more of the top biomedical journals. It also offers more international journal coverage than any other MEDLINE database including International Content Compared Active Full-Text Journals by Country and Region.
PsycINFO
This database is the world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioural science and mental health. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is an indispensable tool for the discovery of global scholarly research.
Sage Journals Premier
This is a large, multidisciplinary database of journal articles containing many top Psychology journals.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect is the world's leading source for scientific, technical, and medical research. Our subscription covers full access to the social and behavioural sciences package of journals giving access to a wide range of Psychological journal articles.

Academic Writing

The ULaw Academic Writing for Science resource is designed to help you write in an academic style.

Academic Writing for Science

Referencing

Psychology at ULaw uses APA 7th as the referencing style