Help and Support

The University of Law's Library and Study Skill Service is committed to ensuring that all students can make full use of our services and facilities.

This page sets out the support you can expect from the team online or at our main campuses (Birmingham, Bristol, Guildford, London Bloomsbury, London Moorgate, Leeds, Manchester and Nottingham)

If you would prefer to discuss the support on offer either in person on campus or online, please do get in contact with us.

We have a digital first policy for our collections which means you will be able to access all reading list materials online.

Different publishers will provide different accessibility features and support pages but will often include:

• Magnification tools and the ability to change font size and contrast
• Read aloud functionality
• Options to download so you can use any locally installed software

Our online collections are accessed using your ULaw username and password.

Our print collections complement our online collections and are available on the shelves for you to read on campus or to borrow and read elsewhere. There are self-service machines that you can use to take out books from the library.

To support the use of our print collections we provide:

• Extended loans - you can borrow books for a longer period of time (usually two weeks instead of one) where this has been agreed on a University of Law Inclusion Plan. Our books will automatically renew 6 times, unless they are required by someone else.
• Book collection - if you need someone to collect a book from the shelves and put it aside for you, please do let us know. We will inform you (normally by email) when the book is available and where to collect it from. This may be from the security team on occasion as our libraries are not always staffed. Please do give us plenty of notice in case no-one from the library team is on campus that week.
• Request a book or article - to request something that we do not have in our collection

Our libraries are available for use as a place to study and are open when our campuses are but may be unstaffed. AccessAble guides to our main ULaw campuses are available and include information about the library and moving around the space.

The AccessAble guide will also highlight if the library you are visiting has:

• hearing assistance systems
• height adjustable tables
• auxiliary aides such as ergonomic chairs and high contrast keyboards

Please do contact us if you have any questions about visiting the library. You might want to know:

• When the library is likely to be staffed or open
• When the library is likely to be less busy
• About any specific equipment you may find in the library

Please contact the Disability and Inclusion Service if you have other on campus requirements to discuss such as: personal emergency evacuation plans, assistive technology, locker access.

If you need support with a particular library-related activity, do let the library team know. This could be providing our information in an alternative format or a member of the library team supporting you with an activity.

We routinely provide online one-to-one appointments that you can book on to yourself. We can also offer bespoke one-to-one orientation and support sessions tailored to you to help you make the most of our collections and our libraries. Please do let us know if there are particular environments or times of the day that would work best for you.

There may be occasions where we refer you onto other teams who are better placed to support you.

Our team of Study Skills Advisors are here to help you with issues relating to your academic studies including:

• writing skills
• time management and organisation
• preparation and consolidation for your workshops / units
• revision and exam technique

Our Study Skills Advisors are an online team and provide self-directed resources and live webinars on a range of topics as well as online one-to-ones for individual tailored support.

You will find online resources dedicated to dyslexia and specific learning difficulties (SpLDs) in our area of Elite, and we have a specialist advisor who can help if you are studying with neurodiversity.

If you are a support worker for one of our students, you will have access to the information about our libraries and services contained on our website as well as self-directed videos and exercises in our Skills Academy. You do not need to have University of Law credentials to register for the Skills Academy.

If you have any questions about our services on offer, please do contact us.