Collections: Leisure Reading and Community Collections

Community collections are being developed for the following areas:

Disability & Neurodiversity

Have a look at our Disability & Neurodiversity collection. We've also created a page to celebrate Disability History Month running from 16th November - 16th December 2023

Health & Wellbeing

Our Health & Wellbeing collection features a range of titles to support your wellbeing and covers a range of health conditions. We are also developing sub-collections for specific topics including Menopause, Parents and Carers, Fertility & Infertility, Grief, and Financial Wellbeing

International Students

Browse our International Students collection for literature translated into English and abridged literature. Our International Students guide is also available to support international students as they settle into the UK

LGBTQ+

Have a look at our LGBTQ+ Collection to view titles related to lesbian, gay, bi-sexual, transgender, queer, and other related perspectives.

Race, Ethnicity and Cultural Heritage

Our Race, Ethnicity and Cultural Heritage Collection features a range of titles covering voices, culture and experiences of a variety of global majority and other ethnic groups. We are also developing sub-collections for Black History Month, East and South East Asian Resources, Gypsy, Roma, Traveller & Boatmen resources, Islam, Judaism, and South Asian Resources.

You can also look at our page created to celebrate Black History Month

Study Skills

Browse our Study Skills collection for titles to support areas and skills such as writing and critical thinking. Our Study Skills service also provide a wide variety of support and resources to help you study smarter and make the most out of your time at university.

Library Services have teamed up with OverDrive to provide you with Libby App a service that allows you to read eBooks online or listen to audio books at your leisure.

How to download Libby App

Download or open Libby on your device:

In Libby, follow the prompts to find The University of Law and select it to sign in with your ULaw login.
Browse your library's collection and borrow a title. Borrowed titles appear on your Shelf and download to the app automatically when you're connected to Wi-Fi, so you can read them when you're offline.

On your Shelf, tap loans at the top of the screen. From there, you can:

• Tap Read With... to choose where you'd like to read the book (Kindle or Libby), then finish sending to Kindle (U.S. libraries only) or start reading in Libby.
• Tap Open In Libby, Open Magazine, or Open Audiobook to start reading or listening in the app.
• Tap Manage Loan to see options like Renew and Return

Take some time away from your studies and relax & recharge with some recreational reading. Here are some leisure reading sources:

• Fiction books on Libby - fiction eBooks and audiobooks for you to read anywhere
• Fiction books on VLE Books - fiction titles we have purchased as eBooks for the library's collection
• Project Gutenberg - over 70,000 freely available books, mostly older titles
• LibriVox - free, public domain audiobooks, read by volunteers from around the world
• OpenLibrary - millions of books freely available online
• ManyBooks - 50,000+ free eBooks

Don't forget to take a look at the public library service in your local area within the UK - they'll provide books, eBooks, magazines and much more!

Audiobooks

Browse our collection of audiobooks on Libby.